Weekend Eats & Treats

Preparing for my upcoming competition gets pretty tough on the weekends.  I have no trouble at all keeping up with the meals and workouts during the week, but when the weekend rolls around I start getting…eh…lazy.  On weekdays, I have a pretty set routine as far as gym time, work time, and meal time, but on the weekends my schedule is anything but structured!

Here’s what I ate yesterday, including a weekend “treat meal” at the end of the day:

Meal 1:

  • 3/4 cup liquid egg whites
  • 2 cups sauteed spinach
  • 1 slice toasted Ezekiel bread
  • 1/2 tsp coconut oil (spread on the bread)
  • 1 clementine
  • coffee with Truvia

Meal 2: (Post-workout)

  • Shake made with water, 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder, 1/2 frozen banana, cinnamon, and vanilla
  • 1/4 cup brown rice
  • 1 cup mixed steam vegetables

Meal 3:

  • 1 TB almond butter
  • 1 whole grain rice cake
  • coffee with Truvia

Meal 4: (at P.F. Chang’s with the hubby)

  • Split an order of chicken lettuce wraps as an appetizer
  • “Buddha’s Feast,” tofu and steamed veggies
  • 1/4 cup plus another little scoop of brown rice
  • 1 glass of red wine

…and later, while watching a movie with T:

  • another glass of red wine
  • 5 crackers spread with almond butter

Throughout the day, I also had close to a gallon of water.

Looking at this list, I see where I could have made some improvements!  I started the day off strong with my first meal, but got lazy as the day went on and I could have added more protein-rich foods in on a regular basis throughout the day.  I also could have nixed the 2nd glass of wine 😉

How do you stay on track on the weekends?  If you’ve ever done a fitness competition, can you make any suggestions for improvement for me?  How do you manage “treat meals?”

Have a happy Sunday!  🙂

2 thoughts on “Weekend Eats & Treats

Leave a Reply

