If You Like Pina Coladas…

…maybe you should try coconut oil!

Per the recommendation of my awesome coach Brooke, I’m going to be incorporating more “healthy fats” in my diet in the form of oils like walnut oil, Udo’s oil, and coconut oil.  (My plan is to lay off the nuts and nut butters for a little while…I tend to overindulge in them!)

Because I only have olive oil and coconut oil in my pantry at the moment, I’ve decided to give coconut oil a try this week.  I’ll be adding it to my last meal of the day along with some lean protein or protein powder.

Coconut is one of those flavors that people either love or hate – fortunately for me, I happen to love it!  But the coconut flavor in the oil can be mild to stronger depending on the brand.

The benefits and uses of coconut oil seem to be endless (at least according to a quick Google search!).  It has antimicrobial properties, it’s great for your skin as a natural moisturizer, you can cook with it…heck, people even use it as a detoxifying mouth rinse!  Seriously!

Not sure I’m ready to brave the concept of oil pulling yet…for now, I’m gonna give a coconut oil protein shake a try 😉

I think I’ll try this variation on a recipe that I found on Pimp My Protein Shake:

  • 1 scoop of vanilla whey protein powder
  • water
  • 1 TB virgin coconut oil
  • 1/4 tsp coconut extract
  • 1 TB shredded coconut (unsweetened)
  • Ice cubes
  • 2 TB of 1% cottage cheese (for extra creaminess and some casein protein)

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

