PWO Powder Power

I gotta tell ya, getting up at the crack of dawn every morning to work out is not always fun.  Once I’m at the gym and working out, I’m glad I’m there.  But at that hour of the morning, I simply don’t have the energy that I’d have if I was working out later in the day!  Plus, I’m usually working out on an empty stomach, which means I have even less energy.

With my upcoming competition, I really want to get the most out of my AM workouts.  So I visited my local Nutrishop and chatted with the guys there to see if they could recommend a good pre-workout supplement.  I love that store – the employees are always super knowledgable and friendly, and never make you feel silly for asking questions!

Typical ingredients in a pre-workout supplement include:

  • Caffeine, which can help support your mental clarity, focus, and your metabolism
  • L-Arginine, which may help you recover from your workouts more quickly, and which can help you have more explosive muscle movements during your workout
  • Beta-Alanine, which may help with your muscular endurance

The employee at Nutrishop was so nice that he actually gave me 3 different samples of pre-workout powders to try.  I sampled them over the last couple of days, and here is my review:

Pre-Workout Supplement #1 – N’SANE

From the manufacturer:

N’SANE™ is an extremely powerful, next generation, ultra concentrated, pre-workout formula utilizing only precise ratios of patented ingredients and quality, active compounds. N’SANE™ is not for beginners and is to be used with caution by serious athletes on intense training programs.N’SANE™ is designed to produce explosive energy, skin tearing muscle pumps, road map vascularity, razor sharp focus, muscular endurance, incredible strength, lean muscular gains and measurable results. N’SANE™ pushes the limits of extreme nitric oxide production, blood volumization and neuro-stimulation when used in conjunction with proper nutrition and a regular weight training program. N’SANE™ is 3 times more potent per serving size, contains NO sugar, NO carbs and NO fat-storing, physique killing fillers like those “other guys”! Insane energy, insane strength, insane pumps and insane growth! This product is N’SANE™!

What time I took it:  5:20am

What time I worked out:  5:45 – 7:00am

Type of workout:  Functional (plyometric) workout

Flavor:  Green apple <– tastes like a jolly rancher, and the flavor is not too strong for my sensitive AM stomach

My thoughts:  I didn’t get the jitters from this product.  I did, however, sweat like a BEAST at the gym that morning, ha!  I think the employee gave me about 1/2 a scoop to sample, and for me, that is a good amount to start with for now.  I was able to power through my workout with lots of energy and left the gym feeling like I was on cloud 9!

Pre-Workout Supplement #2 – Hemovex

From the manufacturer:

Hemovex is the newest Pre-workout supplement to hit the shelves. This Nitric Oxide product will not fail to deliver its promise of intense workouts with greater duration and pump. Hemovex is designed to to promote extreme cell signaling hemodilation, volumization and neuro-stimulation initiated by nitric oxide synthesis.  Hemovex will assist you in your workout by:

-Giving you Explosive Workouts

-More Reps

-Increased Vascularity

-Increased Muscular Volume

-Increased Strength

-Non Stop Energy

-Razor Sharp Focus

What time I took it: 5:30am

What time I worked out:  5:45am – 7:00am

Type of workout:  Cardio (elliptical) and weight training (back and biceps)

Flavor:  Watermelon, mixed with a scoop of my BCAA’s, which is fruit punch flavored.  The taste was similar to Bubble Yum bubble gum…not gross but not tasty either.  (Shown in my post is blue raspberry, which I have not tried.  I have a thing against blue drinks, thanks to an unfortunate New Years Eve experience circa 1999 😉 )

My thoughts:  I don’t have much of an opinion about this product.  I suppose that it helped give me a little more of a boost or focus at the gym, but nothing that noticeable.  I did not get the jitters or shakes from this product either.

Pre-Workout Supplement #3 – Code 3

From the manufacturer:

CODE-3™ by PNR™ (Performance Nutrition Research™) is a concentrate pre-workout product designed to fill the void for the consumers that are currently taking products similar to Jack3d and 1MR but looking for a little more “kick” and performance out of their pre-workout supplement. This is available in Fruit Punch and Apple.

Much like its predecessors , this product will not disappoint upon delivery. Code-3 will give you insane pumps, harder workouts and help you to achieve a more defined YOU.

What time I took it: 2:00pm

What time I worked out:  2:15 – 3:30pm

Type of workout:  Cardio (treadmill) and weight training (shoulders and core)

Flavor:  Fruit punch, mixed with a scoop of BCAA’s; also fruit punch flavored.  Decent flavor and mixed nicely with water.

My thoughts:  I loved Code 3!  I felt great during my workout, and felt kind of “jacked” when I saw myself in the mirror, LOL.  OK maybe I just thought I looked jacked, but hey, I’ll take it 😉  I did feel the slightest bit jittery from this product…but perhaps that was because I took it mid-day rather than first thing in the AM?

What I ended up purchasing:

N’SANE!!!  How could I resist a product with a warning label like that?  I’ve only used it again for one morning since I tried the sample.  I took a 1/2 scoop like before, but this time, about an hour after my workout I got major jitters and felt like I wanted to jump out of my skin.  I ate a little bit of oatmeal with almond butter and that calmed me down.  So we’ll see how it works.  It’s not cheap ($40+ for a container), so I hope I didn’t waste my money.

Have you tried a pre-workout supplement?  What did you love / hate about it?

2 thoughts on “PWO Powder Power

    • Hey girl! I’m still using the PWO powder (N’Sane) but I use it pretty sparingly. I’ve found that it’s great for an early AM workout, but I really don’t need it in the afternoon as I tend to have a lot more natural energy and strength once I have some food in me 🙂

      And if I do use it, I only use about 1/4 – 1/2 of a scoop – any more than that is overdoing it! I guess that means my container will last a long time that way 😉 Overall, I’d still recommend it if you need a little extra umph!

Leave a Reply

