Garnier BB Cream – A review

Have you heard of B..B creams?  They are all the rage right now, and more and more cosmetic brands are coming out with their own version of a B.B. cream.   What is a B.B. cream?  From Sephora’s site:

As one of Asia’s biggest beauty sensations, B.B. cream—short for “blemish balm” or “beauty balm”—is truly an all-in-one skincare wonder. Their lightweight, multitasking formulas provide SPF sunscreen protection and work to moisturize, conceal, and treat skin in just one simple step. The silky, tinted lotions effortlessly blend with your natural tone, minimize the need for concealer and foundation, camouflage lines and imperfections, and serve as a skin-perfecting primer. With just one swipe, skin is left looking smooth, glowing, and natural.

I had been looking at B.B. cream reviews online and trying to decide which to purchase when I saw that Garnier was coming out with their version of a B.B. cream:  the Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector B.B. Cream.

I decided to give the Garnier product a try first, since I could easily grab it at my local Target store and it wouldn’t cost me a pretty penny (I purchased it for $10.99 – not bad for a “miracle” product!).  Here are the deets on this product from Garnier USA’s site:

      Skin concerns, such as discoloration, dullness, blotchiness and dryness can come from a number of different sources. It’s hard to find just one product that addresses them all. Garnier Skin Renew Miracle Skin Perfector B.B. Cream immediately and effectively fullfills your skincare expectations with just one multi-benefit product that combines intense moisturizing skincare + immediate skin perfecting coverage for skin that looks naturally more even, radiant and smooth
      It’s a new idea in skincare. B.B. Cream is a hybrid formula that offers advanced skincare + immediate skin perfecting coverage in one single beauty product.

My review:

I’ve been using this product for about a week now, and I really like it!  I purchased the Light/Medium shade.   I use it under my foundation, or on the weekends when I don’t wear as much makeup, I use it alone as a tinted moisturizer.

I have replaced my normal daytime moisturizer and primer with this B.B. cream.  It definitely has a stong, somewhat citrusy fragrance, but this dies down in a few minutes.  It has not broken out or irritated my sensitive skin.  My skin looks somewhat shiny when I first put it on, but after it sinks in for a few minutes, the B.B. cream leaves a nice, luminous finish.

I am really plagued by uneven skin tone and blotchiness!  The Garnier B.B. Miracle Skin Perfector B.B. Cream does not entirely cover up my uneven skin tone, but definitely tones down the redness and blotchiness…without leaving my skin look like it’s covered in heavy makeup.  I’ve read that other B.B. creams have heavier coverage, so if you’re looking to completely replace your normal foundation makeup, the Garnier brand may not be for you.

 
Have you tried a B.B. cream?  What is your favorite brand?

Leave a Reply

