Thanks a lot Carrie Underwood…

…for the ass-whoopin’ you handed to me at the gym yesterday!

You see, Sunday is supposed to be my rest day from the gym.  But I got out of work late on Friday and decided to make Friday my rest day instead so I could spend more time at home with my man.  That meant on Sunday I needed to make up for lost time!

I recently received this month’s Self magazine in the mail with the lovely Carrie Underwood on the cover.

Inside, Carrie explains one of her favorite workouts:

“I have a game I love for when I’m working out on my own, without a trainer. I take a deck of cards and assign each suit a body area—say, diamonds for arms, hearts for legs, spades for core and clubs for cardio. I split the deck in half and write down exercises for each suit, a different one for each half.
So, if I flip over the six of hearts, I’ll do six squats. If the next card is ace of diamonds, that’s 14 push-ups. Sometimes I’ll make spades boxing and beat the crap out of the bag for however many punches the number on the card says.
Having different exercises for each half of the deck keeps me from getting bored. I make sure there’s a joker in each half—that’s a mile run on the treadmill. Then I go through the whole deck. With a 15-minute warm-up on the elliptical, it takes about an hour and a half total, but it’s fun because you’ve designed the workout yourself.”

Naturally, I decided to give this workout a try!  😉

Here’s what I did:

Fortunately, I drew those two darn Jokers pretty early on in the workout and got the runs out of the way.

This was a great boredom busting workout and lots of fun!  Give it a try if you’re looking to change up your routine.

How did you get your sweat on last weekend?

3 thoughts on “Thanks a lot Carrie Underwood…

  1. Those burpees must have been rough! I’ve done a variation of that workout with just push-ups and sit up, but I love this variety! I’m definitely going to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

