Less than 5 weeks to go!

It’s less than 5 weeks until my first competition at Ms. Bikini New England.  How am I feeling?  Well, to say that I am going through a lot of emotions is an understatement.

I’ve experienced both ends of the spectrum of emotions about this – everything from self doubt to excitement to straight-up fear.  Like it or not, April 28th will be here in the blink of an eye.  Will I be ready?  Will I fall on stage?  WHAT THE HELL WAS I THINKING?!?

The Good:

1.  I’m finally seeing results after all these weeks!  Seeing results is addictive – I want to work harder to see even more results.

2.  I feel great!  My energy is high, I’m sleeping great, and it’s doing my body good to nourish it with so many clean eats.

3.  It’s been amazing to connect with such an inspirational group of women during this process.  I am so thankful for Cathy Savage Fitness and feel lucky to be involved with such an amazing team.

The Bad:

1.  Weird food behavior – I have never had any issues with eating, other than doing too much of it 😉  But I find myself having a couple of great “on” days as far as nutrition, and then backsliding and eating WAY TOO much for a day.  Two steps forward, one step back.  What the hell??  It’s like I’m sabotaging myself.

2.  This is a lonely sport.  My  husband and I joke about my days right now:  wake up, work out, eat, work, eat, work, eat, work, eat, work out, eat, shower, sleep, repeat.  Yep, that pretty much sums it up.  Every day.  And it’s tough because I’m doing this alone…I feel like I’m spending so much time by myself, either eating or at the gym or whatever!  Strange…Plus, I love to cook and entertain and have friends over, and that’s totally stopped since I started my training.  It’s just too tough to resist temptations, so I find it easier to be alone with my chicken and broccoli than to be with others 😉

3.  The anxiety that is coming along with doing this for the first time is so hard for me to wrap my brain around.  I have NO idea what this experience is going to be like.  This is both exciting and terrifying to me.

 

So, the good news is that I don’t think I’m at all alone in my insecurities.  I guess the “5 weeks out” point is when all the self-doubt starts creeping in for others as well!  In fact, two of my Savage sisters have done an amazing job at summing up exactly what I’m feeling.

The first is the gorgeous Stephanie Keenan, who I met up with a few weeks ago for posing practice.  This post was so motivating to me – I can be ready in 5 weeks!

The second is Melissa at Curly Girl Fit Life, who wrote an amazing post about what’s motivating her for the next 5 weeks.

Both of these blogs have helped give me the motivation to put on my big girl panties and keep pushing on…I’m excited to see what the next 5 weeks will bring!

Oh, and here are my progress photos to date (argh):

Week 1

This week

Week 1

This week

Week 1

This week

So I’m definitely a little less “fluffy” and have more definition in my arms / legs.

Let’s keep our fingers crossed for some real magic to happen in the next few weeks 🙂

7 thoughts on “Less than 5 weeks to go!

  1. I think I’m seriously looking at fake tanning it soon for the upcoming wedding. Wow, it just really makes the muscle definition “pop”. I never took any real before pictures before I started working out. I’ll have to add my last picture I took before I started losing weight and put that up on my blog so you can see that I’ve lost some!

    You are doing amazing. I’m so proud of you, my internet friend! Can’t wait to see how you do on the 28th! 🙂 Trust me, I’ll put up a picture of me with the bridesmaid dress on the 28th so you can see my progress too!

    Don’t doubt yourself. You’ve done some amazing things. As far as you backsliding on your diet? I’m having to find alternatives to the things that I normally backslide on. I’ve got sugar free jello and a few other things that are very low calorie that aren’t exactly “clean eating”. I cheated the other day for the first time since I started. Felt bad and immediately started working out… lol.

    • Definitely try the tanning! I like to say that it covers a multitude of sins 😉
      For the wedding, if you have the chance you should try airbrush tanning – it is perfection and looks so great in photos.
      I can’t WAIT to see how you’re progressing, too! Sounds like you are kicking some major butt, girl!! Keep it up, woo hoooo! 🙂
      Thanks so much for the encouragement…

  2. You look truly amaze and are so inspiring! I am starting my clean eating and fitness regime tomorrow so any advice will be gratefully received as I need all the help/support I can get! Can’t wait to see how you do in competition, I think you are going to rock!

    Elena x

    http://love212.org

  3. I was feeling exactly the same way your are 4-5 weeks away from my competition in March. It is SO normal, and I can really relate to your description of your feelings (especially the loneliness and the weird food behavior — I started coming up with the weirdest way to eat my meals in order to make them last as long as possible, ha ha!). I am so excited for you! You are looking fantastic and you’re going to look beautiful on stage. And you may feel alone but you’re NOT — I’m thinking of you, as well as all the other readers of your blog, and I guarantee that you’re inspiring and motivating a lot of people by sharing your journey. Good luck girl!

    • Hearing this from you means so much to me!! Thank you so much! I’m so happy that someone else can relate – I know the hard work more than paid off for you – you are an inspiration, girl!! xoxo!

  4. Pingback: Status Check on Goals: April | My Goal Called Life

Leave a Reply

