Fun craft project: Leather belt bracelets!

You know I completely lost my mind before my competition when I decided that it would be a good idea to make little gift bags for each of the girls that I would be rooming with over the weekend.  Actually, the gift bag was a perfectly reasonable idea – making homemade gifts to go inside of each bag, however, was completely nuts.  As if I didn’t have enough to do leading up to that weekend!

Needless to say, the pic above is one of the goody bags I put together.  Each contained a cute mug, a tiny box of Godiva chocolates, and a handmade bracelet.  (The gift bag was hot pink a la Cathy Savage, of course!)

I saw this bracelet idea on Etsy and just loved it!  It’s a great way to repurpose old leather belts and fashion them into something adorable!

 I had the genius (if I do say so myself) idea of going to Plato’s Closet for the belts, which I purchased for a song and a dance ($3 a piece!!).  Then I headed over to Michael’s and bought lace ribbon, flowers, and a kit to add snaps to leather.

I simply cut the belts to length and added the decor that I liked.  Each one was unique!

These would make a great craft project for kids, too.

What’s your favorite crafty project to do when you decide to unleash your inner Martha Stewart?? 

4 thoughts on “Fun craft project: Leather belt bracelets!

    • Hey girl! The first one took the longest. And it took me a while to figure out the tool to add snaps to the bracelets…so I guess about 2 – 3 hours for all of the bracelets? Let me know if you try making them!

      • So, yeah, I was out garage sale shopping, because honestly it’s my favorite season of the year. I get so much walking done walking around until I find one or two (or three). I’ve decided that next weekend I’m going to buy me some belts for $1 a piece and make some of these.

Leave a Reply

