Sushi night at home!

On our vacation, we took a sushi class, which inspired us to try our hand at making sushi at home last night.  My SIL and her boyfriend stopped by and Trever and I attempted to make made a few rolls for them.

We’ve actually had this kit forever, so it was high time to put it to good use:

Yes ladies, I promise he does occasionally shave 😉

My hubby bought all of our sushi ingredients at Assi, our local Asian grocery store.

Nori, sushi rice, wasabi, pickled ginger, rice vinegar, and cream cheese

Sashimi-grade tuna and salmon

Ground tuna, imitation crab, and shrimp (still frozen in this pic)

First, we made the rice.  Trever has an awesome app on his iPad that walks you step by step how to make different sushi components – I thought the rice tutorial was very helpful!  I would have preferred brown rice, but thought I should stick with traditional sushi rice for this experiment.

Then we started rolling away!

It was fun to experiment with different combinations of ingredients.  Some turned out pretty good:

Others, not so much 😉

 What is this??  LOL!

This turned out to be a fun night at home.  We like to always try different things when it comes to food.

Have you ever attempted to make your own sushi rolls?  Any tips you can give us for next time??  What’s the craziest food you’ve ever made at home?

Hope you’re having a great weekend 🙂

6 thoughts on “Sushi night at home!

  1. What’s the name of the app he has on his phone. I’m VERY interested. I love sushi and I think I’m the only one in the house that loves it. My little ones love to pick the rice off and sometimes actually eat the seaweed wraps! So glad you guys are having so much fun after your trip!

  2. Pingback: Weeknight chicken tacos | My Goal Called Life

Leave a Reply

