Hitting reset

I’m currently taking deep cleansing breaths and remaining calm as I attempt to rewrite this entire post for a second time tonight. Thanks a lot, WordPress, I owe ya one. Big time.

That being said, it’s great to be back and blogging after taking a short break from…well….everything 😉

Time for brutal honesty: I haven’t gone to the gym in a week. I’ve enjoyed a glass (or two) of wine every single night for days on end. I have slept in whenever I’ve had the chance. I’ve been eating some healthy foods but even more craptastic foods. I can’t even remember the last time I picked up my vacuum or mop. And it’s.been.wonderful.

Guess what? I have absolutely no shame in sharing that with you! I’ll admit it; I’m definitely a Type A personality and I typically place pretty high expectations on myself. But let’s face it, no one is making me do anything. There’s no finish line; life is not a contest. No one is giving me a big gold star for every time I run sprints or eat a salad or drink a gallon of water or wear a great outfit or clean my floors. And really…no one is going to be disappointed in me (except for me) if I’m not meeting my own perceived expectations.

That’s why I feel totally comfortable with occasionally hitting the “reset” button on life and taking a little breather. In fact, I’ve found that I’m ready to attack my goals with even more energy and motivation and zest for life if I occasionally give myself a little time to loosen the reigns on the expectations I’ve placed on myself. Are you the same way?

Well, now that I’ve had the chance to “reset,” I’d love to share what’s happening with my jobby job. I saw this pic floating around on Facebook recently, and I thought it summed up my situation pretty perfectly:

So here’s the skinny: I recently made the difficult decision to leave my job of the last two years, as I didn’t feel it was helping me advance towards achieving my goals, either personally or professionally. I’ve never really discussed my career on this blog, and I don’t intend on spending too much time talking about what’s in the past, but the short story is that I’ve worked in marketing since I graduated from college (and we won’t discuss how long ago THAT was!). I worked for 10 years in shopping center management and worked as the marketing director of various malls and retail centers. Then I took my most recent position with a small marketing firm in our area.

I approached this job the way I approach everything in life, trying to do my best and give 110% at every opportunity. Unfortunately, over time I realized that I was burning the candle on both ends for what was turning out to be a thankless job with little opportunity for financial gain. Although I seriously adored my coworkers and didn’t want to “give up” on my job there, I knew that I needed to move on to protect my health and happiness.

I believe that opportunity knocks at the right moment, so when my husband’s company approached me to let me know that they needed someone to put together their marketing plan and launch their new website, I jumped at the chance. I’ll be working for them 4 days a week which (ahhh!) finally gives me one day a week to start working on my big goal of starting my own business.

Now I just need to narrow down my focus to decide exactly what that business is going to be. I’m planning to put together a vision board to help me with this (which of course I’d love to share with you!). I’m going to take the summer to relax a bit and really define what my next venture will be, and then come fall, I’ll be kicking this goal into high gear!

And if you’re still reading, I just want to say thanks in advance for coming along for the ride! 🙂

Have you ever decided to hit the “reset” button?  Have you ever decided to move on from a situation that no longer served you, helped you grow, or made you happy?  I’d love to hear your story!  xo

6 thoughts on “Hitting reset

  1. sounds fantastic!! i did the same thing for a week after my comp…no exercise, went on holidays and enduldged to the max!! it was awesome..and now im ready to get back in to it all. sounds like youve made the right choices and should be proud!! Oh…and Im now a savage sister!!! thanks to your advice!

  2. Menden – this is resonating with me so much right now! The whole thing about the expectations on yourself – I suffer from that big time and I know I need to let things go. Easier said than done!
    Good luck with the new venture – can’t wait to hear about that journey and what you decide to eventually break into business with. I’ll be with you along the way! You’ll be awesome whatever you decide – your positive attitude and can-do spirit is something that I have always recognized and admired in you.
    Go girlfriend! Miss you!

    • Paula, thanks so much for your sweet comment! That means so much to me. I am glad someone else can relate…it’s tough to let things go, but I’m realizing we don’t have to be Superwoman 24 hours a day (just 23 1/2) 😉

      Thanks for following along on this journey!

  3. Congratulations menden. I’m so happy for you. What an exciting time. Looking fwd to following along in your journey.

Leave a Reply

