June faves

Aaah, summer is finally officially here!  Hope you’re enjoying a lovely weekend.  Unfortunately, I’ve caught a little summer cold and am feeling a bit under the weather today 😦  I still made it to the gym this morning but I’m feeling pretty wiped out.

However, one of my current faves is being put to good use right now to ease my sore throat:

1.  Hot and cold teas:

Throat Coat tea is a lifesaver when you’re dealing with a scratchy, sore throat!  It’s naturally sweet and very soothing.  It contains licorice root and slippery elm bark,  which is a homeopathic remedy for sore throats.  I also read that a lot of singers use Throat Coat tea to help them sing for longer periods of time without problems.  I’m drinking a lot of this tea right now to help with this cold!

However, since it’s summer, and I’m orignally a Southern girl, you know I love my iced tea too!  Growing up, we always drank “sweet tea,” which was basically strong-brewed black tea with a TON of sugar in it.  Up here in PA, you really can’t find sweet tea anywhere, which is probably a good thing because it’s really not good for you!  However, I like to make my own “sweet tea,” using my Mr. Coffee Iced Tea Maker:

(I’ve had my iced tea maker for so many years that I guess it’s an outdated model now…the pic above must be the newer version of it)

My current favorite morning drink (in lieu of hot coffee) is a big cup of plain iced green tea, shaken up with a scoop or two of my Isagenix Want More Energy Mix.  So yummy and refreshing!

2.  Digestive supplements:

Ever since my competition, I don’t know what’s been up with my stomach.  I’ve been battling some pretty annoying digestive issues!  I was having heartburn to the point that I was on Web MD looking for symptoms of a heart attack, and have been bloated and just generally uncomfortable after eating.  I also used to have a stress-related ulcer, and don’t want to start having issues with that again.

I recently read Kimberly Snyder’s Beauty Detox Solution book, and she recommends using a probiotic and a digestive enzyme supplement to help ease some of these issues.  So, here’s what I’m using (so far with good results!):

PB 8 Probiotic Supplement (vegetarian):

Rainbow Light Advanced Enzyme System:

 3.  Summery skin:

This might possibly be your new cult favorite lotion for the summer – you can thank me later 🙂

Mario Badescu Summer Shine Body Lotion is so delicious.  It smells like coconut and summertime, and has such a beautiful sparkle (but not too glittery!).  It’s not greasy at all and I just love using this on my legs when I’m wearing a short skirt or shorts.  Love this!

4.  Summer reading:

Well, I think I’ve already explained why I’m not reading 50 Shades of Grey like everyone else is this summer 😉  Instead, I picked up a book I’ve been wanting to read for a while by one of my favorite authors, Rebecca Wells:

The Crowning Glory of Calla Lily Ponder is such a lovely summer read.   I’ve laughed outloud and shed quite a few tears reading this book, and I haven’t even finished it yet.  I won’t give too much away if you care to read it for yourself, but it’s the story of a sweet girl named Calla Lily Ponder who was born and raised in a small town in Louisiana and and who goes on a journey to find herself in the Big Easy.  (Hint:  I got the hardback book for $5.98 on sale at Barnes & Noble!)

5.  An awesome new app:

Songza is my new favorite music app!  How cool is this:

You tell Songza what you’re doing and what you’re in the mood to hear, and it creates the perfect playlist of music for you. So, so smart!!  If you have an iPhone or iPad, download this app asap!

So these are my faves for the month of June…hope you enjoyed! What are you loving right now? 

2 thoughts on “June faves

  1. I just have to say I really look fwd to your blog. Its awesome. I use those same digestive enzymes too and I just read her book too. I loved it. I think shes awesome I just can’t give up animal protein but I always read her website as well. I have the same stomach issues and the bloating. I gave up gluten and it made a huge difference and i take an acidophilus pill everyday too only I’ve found that Natrene or Renew Life are the only 2 that help with my bloating and constipation. (sorry TMI)
    Girl, You just make me want to shop that body lotion looks awesome and I’m also dying to try the Shaklee cleaning supplies.
    Hope your feeling better, get some rest!!
    Hugs,
    Amy

  2. Love PB8, have been using it for years. Hope it works for you. I’m checking out Songza, thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

