Yummy weekend eats

Hey friends!  My sweetheart and I have been doing a lot of relaxing and eating this weekend 🙂

On Friday night, I was in the mood to do some cooking, so I whipped up a few of my favorites for dinner:

Crab cakes topped with garlic aioli, roasted asparagus, and corn salad.

I love making crab cakes!  I like them the REAL way, with very little filler and lots of good crabmeat 🙂  I vary the recipe each time, and I never measure anything, but here’s my best approximation of Friday night’s recipe for you:

Crab Cakes

Ingredients:

  • 2 8oz. containers of lump crab meat (1 lb. total)
  • 2 TB reduced-fat mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 2 scallions, thinly sliced
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup breadcrumbs
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • cayenne pepper
  • olive oil

Instructions:

  • In a large bowl, mix the beaten egg, mayonnaise, dijon mustard, and scallions
  • Gently fold in the crab meat and breadcrumbs
  • Season with salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper
  • Mold into 5 patties (you may have to add a little more breadcrumbs to help hold it together)
  • Place on a plate and refrigerate for at least 20 minutes and up to 2 hours to the crab cakes set
  • Heat a skillet over medium-high heat with a drizzle of olive oil
  • Add the crab cakes and brown for about 3 minutes on each side
  • Enjoy! 🙂

Makes 5 – 6 servings
Calories per serving:  138
Protein:  18 grams
Carbs:  5 grams
Fat:  4 grams

p.s. The corn salad pictured above is TO DIE for!  Get the recipe here!  (I added one chopped up jalepeno for a little extra heat, which was delicious).

I also made a big batch of gazpacho to enjoy for my lunch next week:

Again, this is another recipe that I’ve made a few times over the years, so the ingredients change each time I make it.  But here’s what’s in this batch:

Spicy Gazpacho

Ingredients:

  • Approximately 1/2 a bottle of Spicy V8 juice (I use the low sodium version)
  • 1/2 of a large red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 can of black beans, rinsed (again, I use the low sodium version)
  • 1 can of petite-diced tomatoes with jalepenos
  • 2 zucchinis, chopped
  •  1/2 a bag of frozen corn
  • 1 clove of garlic, chopped
  • drizzle of good olive oil (approximately 2 tablespoons)
  • drizzle of red wine vinegar (approximately 2 tablespoons)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • cayenne pepper, to taste

Instructions:

  • Dump everything in a big bowl
  • Refrigerate overnight so the flavors have a chance to develop
  • Devour 🙂

Makes 6 servings
Calories per serving:  162
Protein:  7 grams
Carbs:  27 grams
Fat:  5 grams

Let me know if you try either of these recipes!  What did you cook this weekend?

5 thoughts on “Yummy weekend eats

  1. I will def make these crabcakes. i lived in baltimore for awhile so I’m a big fan of Old bay seasoning in crabcakes as well.

  2. Pingback: WIAW – Sensible Snacks | My Goal Called Life

Leave a Reply

