Take that, Taco Bell!

Today I was inspired to make something new, and I drew my inspiration from – of all things – a Taco Bell commercial.  You see, The Bell (or “The Smell” as we used to call it in my college days) is currently running an ad promoting its new Cantina Bell menu, with recipes developed by Chef Lorena Garcia.

In the commercial, Chef Garcia is slicing and dicing and chopping up all kinds of fresh ingredients.  At one point, she grabs a big ol’ handful of fresh cilantro and starts chopping away.  Honestly, what I made today probably has zero of the same ingredients (minus probably the cilantro), but just the same, I have to say that Taco Bell inspired me to take a run to the border of my kitchen and see what kind of ingredients I could throw together for my own (healthier) Mexican-inspired meal!

I realized that I had a bunch of ingredients in my fridge and pantry that I could throw together for a “ceviche” type dish, so….that’s what I did 😉

Shrimp and Crab “Ceviche”

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of shrimp.  The size of the shrimp is up to you – I happened to have frozen, shell on, tail on jumbo shrimp in my freezer
  • 1 pound of imitation crabmeat (or if you feelin’ fancy, go for the real stuff)
  • 1/2 of a small red onion, diced
  • 1/2 of a cucumber, seeded and diced
  • 1 big handful of fresh cilantro, chopped (thanks Chef Garcia!)
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos
  • 2 cups or so of Spicy V8 juice
  • hot sauce, to taste
  • ketchup, to taste
  • juice of 1 lime
  • corn tortillas
  • chili powder
  • olive oil spray

Directions:

Boil de shrimp in a big pot of water for 3 – 5 minutes, until the shrimp is cooked through.  Drain, spray down with cold water to cool off the shrimp, and then peel them.  I roughly chopped my shrimp into bite size pieces:

Next, also chop up the crabmeat and add it to the shrimp in a large bowl:

Add your onion, cucumber, and cilantro and gently mix it all together:

Now add your tomato products:

I eyeballed the measurements…just add enough so that the mixture isn’t too “tight.”  Also, I did not add salt to this recipe, as the tomato products (particularly the V8 juice) already contain plenty.  Finally, finish with a hit of fresh lime juice, let the flavors marry for a while in the fridge, and voila:

I enjoyed mine with some homemade tortilla chips (corn tortillas that I cut up and sprayed with a little olive oil and sprinkled with salt and chili pepper.  Throw them in the oven for a few minutes at 350 degrees to crisp them up):

Here’s my best estimation of the nutritional value per serving (minus the chips):

163 calories
16 grams of protein
23 grams of carbs
1 gram of fat

BAM!  I’ll take that over some 760 calorie burrito any day!!

One thought on “Take that, Taco Bell!

  1. Pingback: This week’s meal prep | My Goal Called Life

Leave a Reply

