Housekeeping #FAILS

Have you ever spent a day on autopilot?  Have you ever had the kind of day where you pull into your driveway after a long day at work but you don’t even remember the drive home?  Have you ever had a day where you just can’t seem to get your ish together?

Yeah, I have those days too.  In fact, last weekend was one of those days.

The first awesome thing I did on autopilot was turn all of my hubby’s white shirts a lovely shade of lavender in the laundry.  Laundry #FAIL.

Yay, me!

The second thing I did was turn over an entire melted candle onto our carpet in our basement.  Woohooo!  I was on a roll!  Candle #FAIL.

Unfortunately, nothing could be done to rescue the lavender shirts.  I tried soaking, bleaching, washing, bleaching, soaking, etc.  They just turned a bit of a lighter shade of purple.

On the bright side, I was able to clean up all the candle wax!  And I thought it would be helpful to share how I did it, in case you ever have an autopilot day of your own.

HOW TO REMOVE CANDLE WAX FROM CARPET:

1.  Try to scrape up as much candle wax as possible from the carpet.  I used an old butter knife for this:

2.  Next, gather your supplies.  You will need some newspaper and an iron.  (By the way, this picture really doesn’t do the wax situation justice – it was splattered across the entire carpet!  24 ounces or so of melted wax, haha)

3.  With your iron on medium heat, start ironing over the waxy areas on top of a piece of newspaper.  The wax will start melting and will be absorbed into the newspaper:

4.  Keep ironing over the wax, changing out the newspaper for fresh sheets along the way.  Eventually, the wax will be gone…voila!

What are your home remedies for other housekeeping fails?  Please share – I’m sure I’ll need to reference your tips in the future 🙂

2 thoughts on “Housekeeping #FAILS

  1. Baking paper and an iron works great as well for candle wax. I got chewing gum stuck all over a jacket once, and I was given 2 great remedys that I used a combo of, both worked. Firstly, hairspray it, it freezes it and you can then get it off, or just actually freezing the clothing and then scraping off works too 🙂 I’ve had my share of fails too, I totally empathise.

  2. I’m sure your husband looks LOVELY in a beautiful shade of Lavender! 🙂 They eventually forgive and get over it! That’s the wonderful thing about marriage!

Leave a Reply

