Thanksgiving for Two

No need for a bird this big!

This year, my husband and I will be relaxing at home on Thanksgiving, just the two of us.  It’s a little strange – every year of my life since birth, I’ve been surrounded by a big group of family members on turkey day.  But it will be nice to relax at home with my love and my fur kids.  Plus, it will be my first chance to have a hand at cooking Thanksgiving dinner from start to finish!

However, a party of two will clearly not need to roast a 20 pound bird and cook up 5 pounds of potatoes.  Most traditional Thanksgiving dishes serve 10 – 12 people – yikes!  But the best part of Thanksgiving (in my opinion) is the leftovers, so I wanted to find traditional Thanksgiving foods in smaller portions that would give us a day or two of leftovers to enjoy.

So, I’ve come up with the menu and thought it would be fun to share.  I searched the ‘net and found some relatively easy-to-prepare dishes that serve 2 – 4 people.  I haven’t prepared any of these recipes before, so I can’t vouch for how they will turn out, but I’ll follow up with another post-Thanksgiving review!

Click here to view our Thanksgiving Menu for Two, as well the full recipes for each dish.  (available on Google Docs)

And just because I’m a total weirdo, I thought it would also be fun to share my shopping list, which I’ve put into an excel spreadsheet.  Each ingredient is listed, along with the quantity needed, the recipe that it is used for, where I can find it at the grocery store, and if I can buy it in advance.  I’m planning to shop once this weekend and once next weekend for our Thanksgiving groceries.

Click here to download my Thanksgiving menu shopping list. (available on Google Docs)

And to give credit to my sources, here is where I found each dish listed in my menu:
Spiced Pecans
Brined Turkey Breast
Apple Sausage Dressing
Turkey Gravy
Cranberry Sauce
Sweet Potato Casserole
Spinach Cranberry Walnut Salad
Maple Pots de Creme with Praline Topping

Please let me know if you try any of these recipes!

Anyone else having a non-traditional Thanksgiving this year?  Please share!

(and have a fabulous weekend!)

5 thoughts on “Thanksgiving for Two

  1. I love this! A couple of years ago my then-boyfriend (now-fiance!) and I decided we’d like to start our own Thanksgiving traditions and try to make our own dinner. It was so fun. I will never forget the memories of our first solo Thanksgiving, learning to roast a turkey, baking my first pies, and feeling like a real grown up with my own family. We both come from divorced families and so holidays are generally stress-filled; we are normally required to travel to at least 2 – sometimes 4 – holiday get-togethers. But hosting our own Thanksgiving dinner-for-two has turned Thanksgiving into something completely different. We’ve claimed it as our own, and it has become one of the most cozy, relaxing, enjoyable days of the year. I hope you have a wonderful holiday with your husband – definitely let us know how everything turns out!

    Side note: you are absolutely right. Thanksgiving leftovers are the BEST!

  2. The hubsters and i are also staying home and doing Thanksgiving just the two of us. i think we are going to try to do a turkey together which will be my first time ever cooking a turkey. Its strange not planning an out of town visit with family or at least some kind of get together. your menu looks delish though. Looking fwd to hearing how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

