January Hiatus

Well, hey there!  Hard to believe that my last post was right around Thanksgiving and now it’s 2013.  I’ve been thinking about this little blog of mine, but just haven’t had too many interesting things to blog about!

But here we are – 2013 is all shiny and fresh and new and, of course, I’ve set a bunch of new goals for the year!  Which inspires me to update this little blog again, yay!

One of my goals, at least for the short term, is a little “hiatus.”

My hubby and I completely overindulged in everything during the holidays: spending, eating, drinking, partying, you name it.  I don’t regret it one bit, but we both felt like we needed a little “reset” after all the holiday madness.  We decided to chill out for the month of January.  No booze, no crazy unhealthy foods, and a full month of laying low on the social scene.  We’re a couple of weeks into the month, and so far, so good!  My waistline is loving it, too (bonus!). 😉

For me personally, I’ve also imposed a spending hiatus for the month of January.  I thought this was a really novel idea until I googled it and it seems that a lot of people decide to do this as a resolution in January.  Well, whatever – I’m on board!

I’ve been thinking a lot about how much I really “need” in my life.  Do I really “need” that gorgeous shade of lip gloss to survive?  Have I worn holes in the bottom of my shoes and I “need” a cute new pair of boots?  Am I so dehydrated that I “need” that Starbucks grande no-whip skinny vanilla latte, or I will just perish?  I think not, friends.

So for this month, any time I think of spending money on a non-essential item, I write the item down on a wishlist.  At the end of the month, I’ll review the wishlist and decide if anything on there is really worth purchasing.  If so, I may buy it in February.  If not, I’ll probably forget about it because I didn’t really need it anyway.

Have you ever gone on a personal spending hiatus?  How did it work for you?  What tips do you have for me?

…oh, and Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

