My Planner

Don’t you just love January?  The year is all shiny and new and full of possibilities.  And you know what else a new year means…a new calendar!

I don’t know about you, but I find it incredibly satisfying to cross my “to do’s” off of a written list.  Even though I use my smartphone to keep track of work meetings and other tasks, I really like to have a paper planner for day-to-day use.  I’ve been working on creating the perfect planner for 2013 – and I think I’m almost there!

First of all, I purchased this notebook from the M by Staples line (from…duh…Staples):

My PlannerI really like these notebooks!  Not only is this one a beautiful pink leather, but it is totally customizable, as the pages pop in and out easily and can be moved around as you like.  And, as you’ll see, I discovered that this notebook is compatible with the Martha Stewart line of planner products, also sold at Staples!  (Note: I changed out the 1/2″ discs on the original notebook, and purchased the 1″ size instead so that my notebook could hold more pages)

I added a zipper pocket to the front, which holds sticky notes and tabs from the Martha Stewart line:

Sticky Notes

Now for the calendar:  I purchased Martha Stewart’s discbound notebook calendar insert for 2013, which includes both a weekly and monthly format.

I use the monthly pages to keep track of appointments and things that I want to get done during the month:

Monthly Calendar

And I use the weekly pages to keep track of my meetings and appointments in more detail:

Weekly Pages

Here are a couple of things I really like about my weekly calendar pages:

  • Each day is broken up into morning, afternoon, and evening
  • There are also two empty boxes at the bottom of each day.  One row is where I write down our meal plan for the week.  On the second row, I use these removable stickers to keep track of what things I want to get done around the house each day.  I dunno, I feel like if it’s on a colorful sticker, I’m more likely to complete the task 😉
  • I’m not sure if you can see this, but I use a sheet from this task pad daily to write down any “to do’s” and my meal plan for the day.  The task pad sheets also act as a page marker.

And finally, I use my tabs to separate the section of the notebook pages that I inserted behind the calendar.  I have reference pages, home-related pages, lists, blog ideas, health-related pages, and my to do list for work.  The Martha Stewart calendar does not have anything to separate each month, so I also added a couple of tabs to the monthly calendar pages.

Tabs

I love how everything is conveniently in one small notebook that I can easily throw in my bag every morning!  I hope this post gives you a few good ideas, in case you want to create one of these notebooks for yourself.

Do you use a paper daily planner system?  Or do you prefer a digital calendar?

4 thoughts on “My Planner

  1. Love this! I, too, like a paper planner for daily use. I love that you built your own custom planner. I just purchased refills/colored note paper/to do sheets for my filofax. It does feel like a fresh start each time you set up a new calendar!

  2. I vacillate between paper and electronic. I LOVE using a paper planner, but I tend to be looking at my technology way more than my book. What software do you use on your phone? Just ical?

    Glad to see you back. Happy New year!

    xo

    • Hey girl! I wish I could completely just rely on my technology but I’m such a compulsive list writer, LOL! On my phone, I use iCal and my Outlook calendar at work syncs up with it, but I also like to use Remember the Milk and Evernote. I have a ton of other apps but those are the two I keep going back to. What about you?

Leave a Reply

