13 in ’13: Photography at Longwood Gardens

Hi guys!  It’s been a while since I last updated you on my quest to complete 13 things in 2013 along with my friends.  Since then, we not only finished our winemaking adventure (I have 7 beautiful bottles of Pinot Grigio to show for it!), but we also had a great time learning about macro photography at Longwood Gardens.

Longwood Gardens is located in Kennett Square, PA, and is known as one of the greatest gardens in the world.  They have different exhibitions throughout the year (including a beautiful holiday display that I’d love to see this year), and the weekend we visited was right in the middle of their “Orchid Extravaganza.”  Orchids are some of my favorite flowers, so I was so excited to go there with my friends!

My friend Joanne is an amazing photographer, and she not only was patient enough to teach us how to use our cameras, but she also brought along some really nice lenses for us to try.  I am definitely not a natural when it comes to photography, but I thought I would share a few of my favorite shots from the day:

Longwood Gardens1 Longwood Gardens2 Longwood Gardens3 Longwood Gardens4 Longwood Gardens5 Longwood Gardens6It was such a fun day with the girls, and being surrounded by all of those gorgeous flowers made me forget about the dismal PA weather for a little while 🙂

Stay tuned for a post on our next adventure:  a wine + painting class!  (are you sensing a theme here with the wine??)

Leave a Reply

