Turbofire Week 1 Review – Nothing EZ About It

turbo-fire

Hey friends!  I mentioned recently that I purchased TurboFire and thought it would be fun to share my initial impressions of the program.

The program comes with a series of DVDs, a nutrition guide, some resistance bands, and a schedule to follow.  I hung the schedule inside of the closet in my basement where I’m doing the workouts, and I love being able to check them off as the days are completed.

You work out 6 days per week with the TurboFire schedule, and each session ends with a 10-minute stretch session.  I really like that, because I’m not always good about stretching, and this forces me to slow down and include stretching in my daily routine.  The schedule suggests Wednesday as your “rest day,” but I’ve switched it to Friday, as that works better with my schedule.

turbofire

Although I’m technically doing the beginner DVDs in the pack, I gotta tell you, it is TOUGH!  Wow, it’s a great cardiovascular workout.  So far, I’ve only done a few of the workouts, including the 20 minute low impact HIIT, the 10 minute abs, the “FireStarter” session, and the 45 minute “EZ” class.  Yeah, right – EZ my ass!  I was a red-faced, sweaty mess when I finished that one!  I love that it’s so challenging.

I read a lot of reviews that said the choreography is tough to pick up on, and that it’s difficult to follow Chalene’s cues.  I totally disagree – maybe it’s because I have a dance background, but I think the choreography is explained in a way that’s easy to pick up on.  There’s also a “new to class” option if you want to take the choreography a little slower to learn the moves.

And seriously, Chalene is amazing.  She’s cheering you on the whole time, and you really feel like you’re in the class with her!  I just love her energy – she is awesome.

So – I plan on posting measurements and progress photos after the end of the first month, but I’ll go ahead and share my progress after the first week:  After doing TurboFire Monday through Thursday of last week, I was down 1.5 pounds by Friday morning.  Aaaand then I gained it back over the weekend, ugh!  I’m glad that I noticed that, because it showed me that I need to stay on track over the weekend in order to continue to progress towards my goals.

Check out my Week 2 review here.

Have you every tried TurboFire?  What did you think and / or what were your results?

4 thoughts on “Turbofire Week 1 Review – Nothing EZ About It

  1. Do you know how good it makes me feel to hear YOU say it was tough??? I thought I was in decent shape until I did Turbofire and I was a sweaty mess too! And you are much more in shape than I am!

  2. Pingback: My Current Meal Plan: On the Calorie-Counting Train | My Goal Called Life

  3. Pingback: Turbofire Week 2 Review – I Think I Got a Booty Call | My Goal Called Life

Leave a Reply

